Information On Florida Car Insurance

To register a vehicle in the state, Florida car insurance must also be obtained. A minimum level of coverage has to be supplied by a local insurance company who are licensed to do so by the Florida Department of Financial Services.

Personal Insurance Protection (PIP) coverage is a mandatory requirement, with the minimum level set at $10,000. Also known as Florida No Fault Insurance, PIP covers the driver in the event of an accident, no matter who was at fault, up to the coverage limit. In addition to the driver, coverage extends to most passengers travelling in the same vehicle who do not hold their own PIP policy, although there are some restrictions on this.

Passengers who have their own PIP will be covered under their own policy, with the same applying to any driver who uses a vehicle not belonging to them - as long as permission has granted by the owner. PIP covers the holder as a pedestrian and cyclist plus insures children, the policy holder may have, against any injury sustained on a school bus.

Property Damage Liability (PDL) is again a mandatory requirement for Florida car insurance, with the minimum level set at $10,000. This will insure the policy holder and family against any damage caused to another member of the public's property, in the event of a car accident. The insurers will pay out to repair the damage if the accident is deemed the drivers fault.

Drivers may be required to take out Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) insurance if they have been convicted of certain driving offences and/or had an accident that found he or she to be at fault. The plan will pay out, up to the policy limit, if another person suffers serious injury or dies as a result of an accident caused by the holder. If the driver is to be sued because of an accident, the policy will pay for a lawyer to represent them. Similar to PIP and PDL insurance, BIL extends to cover the driver while using someone else's vehicle and to the policy holder's family.

The option of extra cover and limits are available from insurance agents but the mandatory levels are required whilst a car displays a legitimate Florida tag and insurance cover must be maintained for as long as the vehicle is registered in Florida.

Non-cooperation with the mandatory insurance cover, required in Florida, can incur stiff penalties. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles are authorized to seize car registration and vehicle tag for insurance violations.

In order to have the seized registration and tag returned, the driver must pay a reinstatement fee. Reinstated fees can range from $150, for a first time offender, to $500, for a repeat offender. Proof of insurance must be provided and penalty paid before registration and vehicle tag can be returned. If a driver chooses not to insure his or hers vehicle then the vehicle's tag and registration must be turned in to any Florida driver license or Tax Collector office before their current Florida car insurance is cancelled, to avoid any suspension penalties.

>> Please click here to get insurance <<